• KEEP GOING
  • Posts
  • day 2 of the best 3 days of my life.

day 2 of the best 3 days of my life.

recap of nights and weekends s4 sf-irl

hey brook here again!

Here is a recap of what I hope to be as the most defining 3 days of my life, the in real life event from nights and weekends.

What was nights and weekends s4 sf-irl?

nights and weekends is a program held by a company named buildspace. It's where you build your ideas for 6 weeks alongside other builders. And this is the in-real-life event where those who graduate are invited out to San Francisco, California to push their ideas even further for three days.

If you haven't read day 1, read it here: https://keep-going.beehiiv.com/p/day-1-best-3-days-life

Day 2.

The goal for today was to build 2 more websites and get two more sales. But as long as I get one more, I will have fulfilled my irl event goal of 2 sales total.

I followed up with the rest of the responses from yesterdays mass message, and then decided to make a launch video on how I helped Chloe launch her idea.

You can find the link to the launch video here: https://twitter.com/thebrookslagle/status/1705674996096647238.

After the launch video, I chatted with more people and learned more about what people actually need. Most of those who have an idea but lack technical experiences need a platform to launch with AS WELL AS needing technical help to build their idea.

This is simply not what I do, I build them landing pages and connect them with their products. Not build the products.

But there was another opportunity that arose, and it came in the form of a similarly formatted mass message in the whatsapp group chat from one named Isshan.

He was offering to give feedback to builders' landing pages. And he was doing this with his tool FlowNote (https://flownow.so), a tool to help developers and designers asynchronously get and give feedback on websites. Kinda like Google Doc comments but for websites.

Isshan and I joined forces. We audited some landing pages. As well, I put in a pre-order on his software because it is definitely something I would actually use.

After giving feedback, I spoke and pitched with a bunch of other builders, one of them being Justin with his project https://bxoffice.com, a movie list curating app.

He was pretty unclear on the design and was willing to give me some cash if I could build him a design guideline for his website.

Not a full website, but guidelines so that he could build around it? Sure. It'll count as a sale.

Right after getting this going, there was a message from Farza saying that he was doing a panel with Founders Inc.’s very own Furqan and that if you want to come you should go outside now.

So we did that, and the panel was incredible.

Furqan is a legend, and being Farza's mentor, he provided an immense amount of knowledge in the span of a 1 hour panel.

Right after that, we had to run back to the main hall and get food, then immediately return to the campus to attend a panel with four sf1 students, which were full time working on their ideas in buildspace in sf.

Directly after that 1 hour panel, my house guadmire and erevald's lecture were combined into a single lecture with Stavan and Jeffery on Design and Writing.

This lecture was incredible. I could write a whole post on this lecture alone.

But, after that was over, we headed back to the hotel to call it a day. But the hustle didn't stop until I had shipped a Figma file for Justin's project by midnight.

The next morning, I received...

Stay tuned for Day 3, the finale tomorrow.

KEEP GOING

B.S.