• KEEP GOING
  • Posts
  • day 3 of the best 3 days of my life.

day 3 of the best 3 days of my life.

recap of nights and weekends s4 sf-irl

yo! brook here again with day 3, the finale of what I hope to be as the most defining 3 days of my life. The in real life event from nights and weekends.

What was nights and weekends s4 sf-irl?

nights and weekends is a program held by a company named buildspace. It's where you build your ideas for 6 weeks alongside other builders. And this is the in-real-life event where those who graduate are invited out to San Francisco, California to push their ideas even further for three days.

If you haven't read day 1, read it here: https://keep-going.beehiiv.com/p/day-1-best-3-days-life

If you haven't read day 2, read it here: https://keep-going.beehiiv.com/p/day-2-best-3-days-life

Day 3.

Today was demo day.

400 builders, nearly 400 demos. Open to the public via invite. I needed a game plan for what I was going to show off.

It took me a while.

There was cool events going on, but in the end, I couldn't figure out what to put into a slide deck until 20 minutes before my house's time to demo.

I was stumped for a while, but then put something together and ran it through with my table mate.

It was go time.

The energy in the room was insane.

I grabbed my water and began pitching to whoever would listen.

I did my pitch over 15 times.

It was loud as fuck in this event hall. And my throat was dry.

I ran out of water after the first three pitches.

I iterated my pitch between people, and my last two pitches were by far the best.

My natural stutter came out in every pitch, but I still pitched my ass off.

And...

The outcome was NOT terrible.

Overall, gained 10 followers on Twitter and built up my self-confidence.

I learned that I needed to talk about my idea more, and JUST TALK with people.

The worst they can say is that they don't care and move on.

And that never really happened, the worst that happened was "I am a dev so I don't need this but its cool. good luck."

And then, once the demo hour and a half was over, we all were kicked out to go relax and enjoy the sunshine.

We went to the Fort Mason green space and decompressed.

I did some stretching, animal flow, and handstand stuff.

It was exactly what I needed.

We returned to the venue in preparation for the closing ceremony. After an impromptu group photo, I was the second person into the hall.

All the sf1 students had inflatable baton-things and were screaming at us with excitement as we ran to the second row of tables, and filled in by house.

The closing ceremony was beautiful, with sf1 graduation and dinner.

It was a bittersweet ending.

It was over, but in reality, I have just begun the process of building my own ideas.

And I don't plan on stopping.

These past three days have moved me in a way that is indescribable.

The people.

The energy.

The environment.

This is something that I will never forget.

It reset my tolerance for burn out.

It expanded my tank for hustling.

It redefined what "hard work" was for me.

I didn't reach my goal of $1500 in total revenue, but I got my two sales, made connections with over 20 people, tested some projects that I KNOW will change the world in the future.

and I couldn't be happier.

I want to give a massive thank you to the entire buildspace team, especially Devin and Farza for making the event something special for me.

It was truly a blessing to be able to come out to beautiful San Francisco and experience this.

I am writing this from 35000 feet in the sky, flying back on a red eye flight back to Omaha.

Thank you for reading.

Take a risk, build your idea and work on it for 6 weeks.

You never know what will happen.

It might change your life.

See you in n&w s5 :D

KEEP GOING

B.S.